My Experiences Marketing and Selling Resort Real Estate in the Caribbean.

January 21, 2009 § 1 Comment


To say the least, my experiences selling and marketing luxury resort real estate in Anguilla and the Dominican Republic were life changing.  So much so, that I now live in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic.  And, I would live in Anguilla as well if there was enough work.

Yes, there were crazy times in both locations, but more so in the Dominican Republic.  I did not speak their native tongue, Spanish, so that lead to many interesting “conversations”, if you can call them something other than a comedy / tragedy.  Luckily, there are many bilingual and trilingual people that I worked with that helped me through these episodes.  I wish I could tell you these stories, but I do not want to embarrass anyone, particularly myself.  Suffice it to say, if you come here and spend anytime in Santo Domingo, Higuey, San Pedro, Bavarro or Samana,  you will know what I mean.  Just crazy.  A good crazy though.

I spent 2.5 years in the Dominican Republic, eating great food, meeting wonderful and gracious people, going to some amazing beaches and just enjoying the latin lifestyle.  Did I mention I tried my hand at dancing merengue…for a gringo I did OK.  Or so I was told.  Even with the frustrations, I enjoyed every moment and would not trade it for the world.  I met my wife here.  She is fantastic, one of those trilingual people, and we now have 2 kids…who are quite special.

After leaving my rice, beans and merengue, I headed to the island of Anguilla in the British West Indies.  Here, life and work were much more laid back.  Not less productive, but much more island like and matter of fact.  An, “it is what it is, so deal with it” kind of place.  Once I got over that, it was just an amazing little island with phenomenal restaurants, some of the world’s best beaches, super nice people if they were inclined to liked you, and a wonderful spirit.  So much to do on such a small island.  Should you need time off, St. Martin was a quick 20 minute boat ride away.  And, there we had more restaurants, gambling, shopping, the french and the dutch.  What a time.  If I didn’t mention it, Bankie Banx and Moon Splash were always fun, Picante “Mexican” restaurant was a life saver, and Mango’s was a must have at least twice a week.  Oh, and we met several wonderful Dominicans in Anguilla.  Quite a small world.

I gained about 20 pounds in Anguilla, and am trying to get back to that weight.  Fat and happy is a good thing.

So, now that I have given you a peak at my life, what does this have to do with resort real estate.  Well, everything really.  While in these places, I happened to be part of selling $400 million dollars worth of great properties and learned some very valuable things about people, about life and about living.  Once you learn these things, it enables you to have a good time no matter where you are (doesn’t hurt that I am in always in amazing Caribbean settings) and who you are with…because life is short and it begs to be lived to the fullest.

So, live life and visit these countries…and buy some real estate while there.  That will keep you coming back year after year…and improve your overall outlook on the world.  It surely worked for me.

§ One Response to My Experiences Marketing and Selling Resort Real Estate in the Caribbean.

  • grullord says:

    I would love to be part of you team. Please see my profile on wordpress, I have been in the punta cana area a couple of times and as you said. It is heaven on earth. great story you have in this blog. thanks
    Rafael D Grullon

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Experiences Marketing and Selling Resort Real Estate in the Caribbean. at RESORTTOPIA.

meta